Support us
Close nav Archive

Great Expectations

Adapted by Tanika Gupta

‘Tanika Gupta's ingenious adaptation for English Touring Theatre...’ The Times
‘There are some very fine performances in Great Expectations and the epic sweep of Dickens’ story is well served in Nikolai Foster’s production...’ WhatsOnStage

Dickens’ epic novel has been lovingly adapted for the stage by leading playwright Tanika Gupta.

Following a terrifying encounter with an escaped convict, young Pip is given an unexpected chance to better himself by the reclusive and mysterious English lady, Miss Havisham. In the decaying grandeur of her house, Pip falls in love with Estella and helped by an anonymous benefactor, he moves to the bustling city to pursue his dream of winning Estella’s heart and of becoming part of the elite.

Painted in rich, vivid colours across a vast landscape of characters and locations, this stunning new version promises a powerful and theatrical telling of Dickens’ universally loved masterpiece.


An English Touring Theatre and Watford Palace Theatre co-production.


Watford Palace Theatre

17 Feb - 12 Mar 2011

Cambridge Arts Theatre

22 - 25 Mar 2011

Theatre Royal Brighton

29 Mar - 2 Apr 2011

Richmond Theatre

5 - 9 Apr 2011

Yvonne Arnaud Theatre, Guildford

19 - 23 Apr 2011

Oxford Playhouse

27 - 30 Apr 2011

Malvern Theatres

3 - 7 May 2011

Rehearsal Gallery


Creative Team


Tanika Gupta


Nikolai Foster


Colin Richmond

Lighting Designer

Lee Curran

Music Advisor

Nitin Sawhney


Nicki Wells

Sound Designer

Sebastian Frost


Zoobin Surty

Associate Director

Nicola Samer

Fight Director

Kate Waters

Casting Director

Kay Magson


ETT placeholder

Abel Magwitch

Jude Akuwudike
ETT placeholder


Rob Compton
ETT placeholder

Herbert Pocket

Giles Cooper
ETT placeholder


Russell Dixon
ETT placeholder

Miss Havisham

Lynn Farleigh
ETT placeholder

Mrs Gargery/Molly

Pooja Ghai
ETT placeholder


Shiv Grewal
ETT placeholder


Simone James
ETT placeholder

Joe Gargery

Tony Jayawardena
ETT placeholder


Tariq Jordan
ETT placeholder


Darren Kuppan
ETT placeholder


Kiran Landa